You are here: Home -> Lyne Kirk
Mainly 17th century parish church set within picturesque graveyard.
Church History |
|Distance from Town:||
7.4km / 4.5 miles|
NT 1918 4052|
|History of site:||
During the reign of King William the Lion (1165-1214) the chapel of Lyne was owned by the Bishops of Glasgow and was a dependant of Stobo Church. It became a parish church in it’s own right early in the 14th century although it remained the property of the See of Glasgow until the end of the 15th century. In 1600 the church was “found altogether fallen to the ground”, but repairs were delayed until the 1640’s while disputes raged over whether or not to move the church to Megget. The present building is relatively unchanged from the 17th century and stands within a picturesque little graveyard. An intricately carved gravestone of 1712 shows Adam and Eve being tempted to eat the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge by Lucifer.
Unrestricted Access to churchyard|
Church of Scotland|